Doin’ Time in Canada, Sept. 29-Oct. 2, 2011, by Ashley Lucas

31 Aug

One of Razor Wire Women‘s contributors, Simone Davis, has been very gracious in inviting me to perform my one-woman play, Doin’ Time: Through the Visiting Glass where she teaches at the University of Toronto and at Grand Valley Institution for Women.  She has also arranged through her many connections for me to perform at neighboring Trent University.  This will be my first time performing in Canada and also my first visit to a Canadian prison, where I look forward to meeting the women who participate in Simone’s Inside-Out classes. (For more on the Inside-Out program, read Simone’s chapter in RWW and see the program’s website.)  Thank you to Simone, her colleagues at the Universities of Toronto and Trent, and the staff at Grand Valley for making this trip possible.  Special thanks also to my good friend Adam Ulloa, an incredibly talented graphic designer, who made this amazing poster for the Toronto performance.

For more on the dates, locations, and times of Doin’ Time‘s first Canadian tour, see the Appearances Tab on this website.

3 Responses to “Doin’ Time in Canada, Sept. 29-Oct. 2, 2011, by Ashley Lucas”

  1. Jamila September 1, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    How exciting! Have a great time in Canada!

  2. Jade (@jadedid) September 7, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    Congratulations on the Canada performances! I would love to hear how the performances went and how it was received in Canada. Were the conversations any different than the ones you’ve had in other places?

    • razorwirewoman September 8, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      Thank you, Jamila and Jade, for your support and enthusiasm! I will be heading to Canada to do these performances at the end of September and will certainly be reporting about my experiences on this blog after my return. I will carry you both with me in my heart as I go.

Leave a Reply

